International Vendor Week 2017

13 January 2017 Magazine

International Vendor Week 2017

The Big Issue is celebrating International Vendor Week from 6-10 February with our annual CEO Selling campaign.

More than 100 business and government leaders will hit streets around Australia to sell copies of The Big Issue and help shine a spotlight on the magazine's homeless and disadvantaged vendors, who are working to improve their lives.

The senior executives will don the fluoro Big Issue vest and sell the magazine in 30 minute sessions at various times and locations during the week.

International Vendor Week aims to raise awareness for the 10,000 people selling street papers in 35 countries around the world.

In Australia, more than 6500 men and women have earned an income through selling The Big Issue in the past 20 years. 

The Big Issue hopes to boost sales to put $100,000 into vendors' pockets for the edition of The Big Issue magazine coinciding with International Vendor Week. This special edition is packed with stories from vendors around the globe.

Help us reach our goal by picking up a copy of the magazine during the week and spreading the word to your friends. Follow us on Twitter and Facebook for updates during the #VendorWeek campaign.

View the media release here.

Look out for guest sellers helping us celebrate International Vendor Week in your state. These include:


Yvette Berry - Member for Gininderra, Minister for Housing, Community Services and Social Inclusion, Minister for Multicultural and Youth Affairs, Minister for Sport and Recreation, Minister for Women
Nicole Lawder - Member for Brindabella, Shadow Minister for Housing, Shadow Minister for Family and Community Services, Shadow Minister for the Environment
Caroline Le Couteur - Member for Murrumbidgee
Shane Rattenbury - Member for Kurrajong, Minister for Climate Change and Sustainability, Minister for Mental Health, Minister for Corrections, Minister for Justice and Consumer Affairs


Don Burnett - Finance Director, MSS Security
Bruce Cooper - Deputy Chief Executive Partner, Clients and Markets, Clayton Utz
Michael Coutts-Trotter - Secretary, NSW Department of Family and Community Services
Robert Cutler - Chief Executive Partner, Clayton Utz
Dunstan de Souza - Managing Partner, Colin Biggers & Paisley
Michael do Rozario - Partner, Corrs Chambers Westgarth
Lisa George - Global Head, Macquarie Group Foundation
Andrew Ireland - CEO, Sydney Swans
Greg Jarvis - General Manager, Trading & Generation, Origin Energy
Kate Jordon - Deputy Chief Executive Partner, People and Development, Clayton Utz
Ronni Kahn - CEO, OzHarvest
Sally Kincaid - Chief Human Resources Officer, QBE
Richard Lindley - CEO, Realview
Geoff Lloyd - Managing Director and CEO, Perpetual
Romilly Madew - CEO, Green Building Council of Australia
Sam McDonagh - Country Manager Australia and New Zealand, Airbnb
Sheryl O'Brien - Acting CEO, Brightside Cover
Tanya Plibersek - Deputy Leader of the Opposition, Shadow Minister for Education, Shadow Minister for Women, Member for Sydney
Peter Scott - Independent Non-Executive Director, Transurban
Sheryl Weil - Executive Director, Banking & Financial Services, Macquarie Group
Phil White - CEO, QBE LMI
Shemara Wikramanayake - Head of Macquarie Asset Management, Macquarie Group


Breeanna Brock - Women's CEO, Brisbane Lions
Helen Clarke - Partner, Corrs Chambers Westgarth
Paul Collins - State Manager, NAB
Michael Coonan - Partner, Herbert Smith Freehills
Barry Dunphy - Partner, Clayton Utz
Jon Meadmore - Partner, Colin Biggers & Paisley
Peter Schmidt - Partner, Norton Rose Fulbright
Chris Smedley - CEO, Assure Programs
Greg Swann - CEO, Brisbane Lions
Matthew Vandermeer - State Manager, MLC Advice Partnerships


Daryl Bateman - CEO, COTA Insurance
Zoe Bettison - Member for Ramsay, Minister for Communities and Social Inclusion, Minister for Social Housing, Minister for the Status of Women, Minister for Ageing, Minister for Multicultural Affairs, Minister for Youth, Minister for Volunteers
Ian Cox - CEO, Hutt Street Centre
Amanda Grocock - General Manager, Rundle Mall Management Authority
Skye Kakoschke-Moore - Senator for South Australia
Steve Laidlaw - CEO, People's Choice Credit Union
Stephen Mullighan - State Member for Lee, Minister for Transport and Infrastructure, Minister for Housing and Urban Development
Ian Smith - Managing Partner, Bespoke Approach
Adrian Swale - Partner, MinterEllison
Keith Thomas - CEO, Port Adelaide
Kelly Vincent - Dignity Party Representative, SA Parliament


Jeremy Blackshaw - Partner, MinterEllison
Jon Briskin - Executive General Manager, Retail, Origin Energy
Adam Brooks - Partner, Thomson Geer
Daryl Browning - CEO, ISPT
Colin Carter AM - President, Geelong Cats
Sonya Clancy - Chairman, The Big Issue
Craig Connelly - CEO, Ian Potter Foundation
Brian Cook - CEO, Geelong Cats
Christine Corbett - Chief Customer Officer, Australia Post
Harry Corsham - Director, Town Square
Martin Cutter - Acting CEO, City of Melbourne
Craig Dent - CEO, State Trustees
Judith Downes - Chair, Bank Australia
Shayne Elliott - CEO, ANZ
Tracey Fellows - CEO, REA Group
Rod Fielding - COO and CFO, Allens
Martin Foley - Member for Albert Park, Minister for Housing, Disability and Ageing, Minister for Mental Health, Minister for Equality, Minister for Creative Industries
Abigail Forsyth - CEO, KeepCup
Wendy Fromhold - Director, WFConsulting
Kristen Hilton - Commissioner, Victorian Equal Opportunity and Human Rights Commission
Mike Hirst - Managing Director and CEO, Bendigo and Adelaide Bank
Adam  Horsburgh - Chief Executive, Melbourne Health
Peter Hutchins - Managing Director, Charter Keck Cramer
Michael Ilczynski - Managing Director Australia and New Zealand, SEEK
David Impey - CEO, Community Enterprise Foundation, Bendigo and Adelaide Bank
Ged Kearney - President, Australian Council of Trade Unions
Paul Kearney - CEO, Kearney Group
Gary Kent - CEO, Western Bulldogs
Jeremy King - Partner, Corrs Chambers Westgarth
David Lindberg - Chief Executive, Commercial and Business Bank, Westpac
Brian Linke - State General Manager, Victoria and Tasmania, Commercial and Business Bank, Westpac
Peter Maloney - CEO, GlobalX
Simon McKeon AO - Chancellor, Monash University
Michael McCormick - State Manager, Small Business, Westpac
Jamie McPhee - CEO, ME Bank
Tim Mitchell-Adams - Managing Director, Charter and ipac, AMP
Scott Munn - CEO, Melbourne City
Mary Padbury - Vice Chairman, Ashurst
Andrew Penn - CEO, Telstra
Sarah Piper - Director, Affix
Luke Sayers - CEO, PwC Australia and Vice Chairman, PwC Asia Pacific
Steven Shaw - Head of Retail Banking, Bank of Melbourne
Jarrad Skeen - Managing Director, Affix
Carolyn Viney - Executive General Manager of Development, Vicinity Centres
Damien Walsh - Managing Director, Bank Australia
Richard Wynne - Member for Richmond, Minister for Planning


Dale Alcock - Managing Director, ABN Group
Kent Anderson - Deputy Vice Chancellor, Community and Engagement, The University of Western Australia
Alex Bates - acting Senior Vice President Asia Pacific, Newmont Mining
Spencer Flay - Partner, Corrs Chambers Westgarth
Liza Harvey - Deputy Premier, Minister for Police, Minister for Road Safety, Minister for Training and Workforce Development, Minister for Women's Interests, Member for Scarborough
John Langoulant - Chairman, Westpac WA
Frank Marra - CEO, LandCorp
Robin McClellan - CEO, Leadership WA
Mark McGowan - WA Labor Leader, Shadow Minister for Regional Development, Shadow Minister for Economic Reform, Shadow Minister for Public Sector Management, Member for Rockingham
Simone McGurk - Shadow Minister for Community Services, Shadow Minister for Children's Interests, Shadow Minister for Women's Interests, Member for Fremantle
Nev Power - CEO, Fortescue Metals Group
Jay Watson - State General Manager, Westpac

Vendor profile