Home  /  News & Events  /  News  /  #CEOSelling 2019

#CEOSelling 2019

31 January 2019 Magazine

#CEOSelling 2019

#CEOSelling 2019 starts today! Business leaders across Australia will become Big Issue vendors for a day, selling the street magazine as part of The Big Issue’s annual CEO Selling event.

Microsoft Managing Director Steven Worrall, BHP CEO Andrew Makenzie, REA CEO Owen Wilson, Deloitte CEO Richard Deutsch and Telstra CEO Andrew Penn are among the executives who will hit the streets with vendors from Friday 1 February.

The Big Issue CEO Steven Persson said the event is about raising awareness of vendors, who are working hard to change their lives.

“Vendors are truly remarkable people; they come to The Big Issue from backgrounds of homelessness, marginalisation and disadvantage. Despite their circumstances, they’re choosing to work and get back on their feet.

CEO Selling is held during International Vendor Week each year; a celebration of 9,000 street paper vendors in 35 countries around the world.

In Australia, 550 vendors sell The Big Issue every edition. They buy copies of the magazine for $4.50 and sell them for $9, earning half the cover price with every sale.

Since The Big Issue launched in Australia in 1996, vendors have sold more than 11 million copies of the magazine, earning $28 million.

Australian Capital Territory

Caroline Le Couteur, Greens MLA, ACT Legislative Assembly
Nicole Lawder, Deputy Opposition Leader, ACT Legislative Assembly
Shane Rattenbury, Greens Leader, ACT Legislative Assembly
Yvette Berry, Deputy Chief Minister, ACT Legislative Assembly

New South Wales

Angela Clark, CEO, Beem It
Anita Cade, Sydney Managing Partner, Ashurst
Bettina Pidcock Chief Customer Officer, QBE
Bruce Cooper, Deputy Chief Executive Partner, Clayton Utz
Cassandra Goldie, CEO, ACOSS
Danny Gilbert, Managing Partner, Gilbert + Tobin
Dominic Sullivan, Director, PAYCE
Don Burnett, CFO, MSS Security
Dunstan de Souza, Senior Partner, Colin Biggers & Paisley
Frank Calabria, CEO and Managing Director, Origin Energy
Geoff Lloyd, CEO, MLC Private Equity
Georgina Byron, CEO, The Snow Foundation
Jane Fitzgerald, NSW Executive Director, Property Council of Australia
John Brogden, CEO, Landcom
Julian Potter, Group Country Manager, Visa
Kate Jordan, Deputy Chief Executive Partner, Clayton Utz
Ken Morrison, NSW CEO, Property Council of Australia
Lisa George, Head of Foundation, Macquarie Group Limited
Michael Coutts-Trotter, Secretary, NSW Department of Family and Community Services
Nick Crennan, Managing Partner, Colin Biggers & Paisley
Richard Deutsch, CEO, Deloitte
Robert Cutler, Chief Executive Partner, Clayton Utz
Steven Worrall, Managing Director, Microsoft
Tanya Plibersek, Deputy Opposition Leader, Federal Government
Tom Harley, CEO, Sydney Swans FC


Barry Dunphy, Partner, Clayton Utz
Elsabe Muller, Asset President Mitsui Coal, BHP
Gabrielle Forbes, Brisbane Managing Partner, Ashurst
Graham Perrett, Labor MP, Federal Government 
Helen Clarke, Partner in Charge, Corrs Chambers Westgarth
James Palmer, Asset President BMA, BHP
Jon Meadmore, Partner, Colin Biggers & Paisley
Mark Evans, CEO, Gold Coast Suns FC
Matthew Vandermeer, State Manager, MLC & NAB Wealth

South Australia

Adrian Swale, Consultant, MinterEllison
Daniel Gannon, SA Executive Director, Property Council of Australia
Ian Cox, CEO, Hutt St Centre
Laura Tyler, Asset President Olympic Dam, BHP
Pat Gerace, CEO, Urban Development Institute of Australia SA
Steven Marshall, Premier, South Australian Government


Adrian Pozzo, CEO, Cbus Property
Ameet Bains, CEO, Western Bulldogs FC
Andrew Mackenzie, CEO, BHP
Andrew Penn, CEO, Telstra
Craig Drummond, CEO, Medibank
Cressida Wall, Victorian Executive Director, Property Council of Australia
Damien Walsh, Managing Director, Bank Australia
Danni Hunter, CEO, Urban Development Institute of Australia Victoria
David Atkin, CEO, Cbus
Gary Lennon, Acting CEO, NAB
Glenn Heppell, Products Industry Lead, Accenture
Greg Craven, Vice Chancellor, Australian Catholic University
Harry Corsham, Director, Town Square
Jamie McPhee, CEO, ME Bank
Jeremy Blackshaw, Managing Partner, MinterEllison
Jon Briskin, Executive General Manager Origin Retail, Origin Energy
Julian Potter, Group Country Manager, Visa
Kevin O'Sullivan, CEO, UniSuper
Lindsay Tanner, Chairman, Essendon FC
Lisa Livis, General Manager Micro SME, Westpac
Luke Sayers, CEO, PwC
Nicolas Gindt, CEO, Yarra Trams
Owen Wilson, CEO, REA
Peter Filopoulos, CEO, Football Victoria
Peter Hutchins, Managing Director, Charter Keck Cramer
Peter Maloney, CEO, GlobalX
Richard Wynne, Labor MP, Victorian Government
Robert Sanderson, Head of Operations, Bank of Melbourne
Rod Fielding, COO and CFO, Allens
Ross McClymont, Melbourne Managing Partner, Ashurst
Shayne Elliott, CEO, ANZ
Simon McKeon, Chancellor, Monash University
Sonya Clancy, Chairman, The Big Issue
Tony Johnson, CEO and Regional Managing Partner Oceania, EY
Vicki Sutton, CEO, Melbourne City Mission

Western Australia

Frank Marra, CEO, LandCorp
Richard Guit, Perth Managing Partner, Ashurst
Brad Rogers, CEO, Bis
Karen Bradshaw, Director of People, Culture and Markets, Bis
Gary Whittaker, GM Staffing Solutions WA, SA & NT, Chandler Macleod
Greg Lilleyman, COO, Fortescue
Edgar Basto, Asset President Iron Ore WA, BHP
Dale Alcock, Managing Director, ABN Group
Alex Bates, Australia Regional Senior Vice President, Newmont Mining
Ian Wells, CFO, Forstecue
Jay Watson, State General Manager West Australia, Westpac
Simone McGurk, MLA, WA State Government
Tanya Steinbeck, CEO, Urban Development Institute of Australia WA

Vendor profile